The new MQ AAAstro research centre currently has about 50 members including faculty, postdoctoral research fellows, postgraduate students, research associates and honorary associates as detailed below.

Some staff and students have joint appointments with other departments or institutes, such as the Australian Astronomical Observatory (AAO) or CSIRO Astronomy & Space Science (CASS). If your info is incorrect or missing, just send a quick email to Ivan Bojicic at


Name Position Email Location
Joanne Dawson Lecturer (Joint with CASS) E6B 2.603
Associate Professor Orsola De Marco ARC Future Fellow E6B 2.706
Jon Lawrence Senior Lecturer (Joint with AAO) E6B 2.704
Richard McDermid Lecturer (Joint with AAO Gemini Office) E6B 2.603
Professor Quentin Parker Professor, Centre Director (Joint with AAO) E6B 2.703
Lee Spitler Lecturer (Joint with AAO) E6B 2.605
Professor Mark Wardle Professor E6B 2.702
Associate Professor Daniel Zucker ARC Future Fellow (Joint with AAO) E6B 2.705


Administrative Staff

Name Position Email Location
Amanda Manypeney Centre Administrator E6B 2.601
Carolyn Dow “Opening Real Science & Space to Grow” Project Manager C3A 911


Associate for Astronomy Staff

Name Position Email Location
Orsola De Marco Director E6B 2.706
Tiffany Day Administrator & Manager E6B 2.201


Postdoctoral Fellows

Name Position Email Location
Borja Anguiano Jimenez ARC Super Science Fellow E6B 2.204
Joao Bento ARC DP Fellow E6B 2.207
Daniela Carollo ARC Super Science Fellow E6B 2.204
Valentina D’Orazi ARC Super Science Fellow E6B 2.204
David Frew MQ Research Fellow E6B 2.205
Pablo Galaviz Vilchis Research Associate E6B 2.201
Angel Lopez-Sanchez Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Joint with AAO) Off Campus
Birendra Pandey ARC DP Fellow E6B 2.206
Warren Reid Macquarie University Research Fellowship E6B 2.205
Jeffrey Simpson Postdoc Research Fellow E6B 2.201
Jan Staff ARC DP fellow E6B 2.206
Milorad “Joe” Stupar RAVE survey and MQAAAstro research support E6B 2.205


Postgraduate Students

Name Position Email Location
Niyas Alikutty PhD Student E6B 2.201
Carlos Bacigalupo PhD Student E6B 2.201
Christina Baldwin MRes Student E6B 2.201
Tui Britton PhD Student (Joint with CASS) E6B 2.201
Charles Cosgrove MRes Student ; W6A Level 2
Michael Cowley PhD Student E6B 2.201
Nick Cvetojevic PhD Student (Joint with AAO) W1A 4.501
Tiffany Day MRes Student E6B 2.201
Dimitri Douchin PhD Student E6B 2.201
Danica Draskovic PhD Student E6B 2.201
Tobias Feger PhD Student E6B 2.201
Michael Fitzgerald PhD Student E6B 2.201
Bob Fuller MPhil Student W3A
David (Brint) Gardner MRes Student E6B 2.201
Greg Goldstein PhD Student E6B 2.201
Andreas Herzog PhD Student (co-supervised by CASS) E6B 2.201
Katie Howard PhD Student E6B 2.201
Elaina Hyde PhD Student E6B 2.201
Sarah (Traine) Keith PhD Student E6B 2.201
Rajika (Reggie) Kuruwita MRes Student E6B 2.201
Roberto Iaconi PhD Student E6B 2.201
Andrew Lehmann PhD Student E6A 2.201
Daniel MacDonald PhD Student E6B 2.201
Alessandro Maini PhD Student E7B 208
Stephen McAndrew PhD Student E6B 2.201
Arik Mitschang PhD Student E6B 2.201
Colin Navin PhD Student E6B 2.201
Glen Rees PhD Student E6B 2.201
Aaron Rizzuto PhD Student E6B 2.201
Izabela Spaleniak PhD Student W1A 4.501
Travis Stenborg PhD Student E6B 2.201
James Tocknell PhD Student E6B 2.201
Shane Vickers PhD Student E6B 2.201


Physics and Astronomy IT support

Name Position Email Location
Joao Bento IT Support Specialist E6B 2.207
Ivan Bojicic IT Support Specialist E6B 2.205
Pablo Galaviz Vilchis IT Support Specialist E6B 2.201


Honorary Associates

Name Position Email Location
Roy Allen Honorary Associate (Retired) E7A 322
Associate Professor Jeremy Bailey Associate Professor (University of New South Wales) UNSW
Mike Ireland ANU Future Fellow ANU
Alan Vaughan Honorary Associate (Retired) E7A 322



Name Position
Richard Baxter MPhil Student – 2012
Catherine Braiding PhD Student – 2011
Stacey Bright PhD Student – 2013
Sarah Chamberlain PhD Student – 2011
John Ching BSc(Hons) Student – 2008
Daniel Cotton PhD Student (Adjunct) – 2008
Anthony Conn PhD Student – 2013
Ashkbiz Danehkar PhD Student – 2014
Kyle DePew PhD Student  - 2011
Madusha Gunawardhana BSc(Hons) Student  - 2010
Duane Hamacher PhD Student – 2011
Shane Hengst BSc(Hons) Student – 2005
Daniel Hobbs BSc(Hons) Student  - 2004
Nemanja Jovanovic PhD Student, PostDoc – 2012
Anna Kovacevic PhD Student – 2011
Angela Mabee BSc(Hons) Student – 2004
Geraldine Marien MPhil Student – 2012
Korinne McDonnell PhD Student – 2011
Brent Miszalski PhD Student – 2010
Rachel Moody PostDoc Student – 2003-2006
Lesa Moore BSc(Hons) Student – 2003, MPhil – 2008
Alan Peyaud PhD Student – 2005, PostDoc – 2009
Mark Pierce PhD Student – 2005
Andreas Ritter PhD Student - 2011
Raquel Salmeron BSc(Hons) Student – 2006
Andrew Smith MPhil Student – 2010
Ben Warrington Research Associate – 2012