Staff

The new MQ AAAstro research centre currently has about 50 members including faculty, postdoctoral research fellows, postgraduate students, research associates and honorary associates as detailed below.

Some staff and students have joint appointments with other departments or institutes, such as the Australian Astronomical Observatory (AAO) or CSIRO Astronomy & Space Science (CASS). If your info is incorrect or missing, just send a quick email to Amanda Manypeney at amanda.manypeney@mq.edu.au.

 

Department

Name Position Email Location
na Joanne Dawson Lecturer (Joint with CASS) joanne.dawson@mq.edu.au E6B 2.603
na Orsola De Marco Professor, ARC Future Fellow orsola.demarco@mq.edu.au E6B 2.706
na Jon Lawrence Senior Lecturer (Joint with AAO) jon.lawrence@mq.edu.au E6B 2.704
na Richard McDermid Lecturer (Joint with AAO Gemini Office) richard.mcdermid@mq.edu.au E6B 2.603
na Quentin Parker Professor (Joint with AAO) quentin.parker@mq.edu.au E6B 2.703
Matt Owers Lecturer and ARC Future Fellow (Joint with AAO) matt.owers@mq.edu.au E6B 2.703
na Lee Spitler Lecturer (Joint with AAO) lee.spitler@mq.edu.au E6B 2.605
na Mark Wardle Professor, Centre Director mark.wardle@mq.edu.au E6B 2.702
na Daniel Zucker ARC Future Fellow (Joint with AAO) daniel.zucker@mq.edu.au E6B 2.705

 

Administrative Staff

Name Position Email Location
Amanda Manypeney Centre Administrator amanda.manypeney@mq.edu.au E6B 2.601
Carolyn Dow “Opening Real Science & Space to Grow” Project Manager carolyn.dow@mq.edu.au C3A 911

 

Postdoctoral Fellows

Name Position Email Location
na David Frew MQ Research Fellow david.frew@mq.edu.au E6B 2.205
na Borja Anguiano Jimenez ARC Super Science Fellow borja.anguiano@mq.edu.au E6B 2.204
na Joao Bento ARC DP Fellow joao.bento@mq.edu.au E6B 2.207
Pablo Galaviz Vilchis Research Associate pablo.galavizvilchis@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Angel Lopez-Sanchez Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Joint with AAO) angel.lopez-sanchez@mq.edu.au Off Campus
na Birendra Pandey ARC DP Fellow birendra.pandey@mq.edu.au E6B 2.206
na Warren Reid Macquarie University Research Fellow warren.reid@mq.edu.au E6B 2.205
Jeffrey Simpson Postdoc Research Fellow jeffrey.simpson@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Jan Staff ARC DP fellow jan.staff@mq.edu.au E6B 2.206
na Milorad “Joe” Stupar RAVE survey and MQAAAstro research support milorad.stupar@mq.edu.au E6B 2.205

 

Postgraduate Students

Name Position Email Location
Carlos Bacigalupo PhD Student carlos.bacigalupo@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Christina Baldwin MRes Student christina.baldwin@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
na Tui Britton PhD Student (Joint with CASS) tui.britton@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Charles Cosgrove MRes Student charles.cosgrove@students.mq.edu.au ; coscemail@gmail.com W6A Level 2
na Michael Cowley PhD Student michael.cowley@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Nick Cvetojevic PhD Student (Joint with AAO) nick.cvetojevic@mq.edu.au W1A 4.501
na Tiffany Day MRes Student tiffany.day@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Dimitri Douchin PhD Student dimitri.douchin@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Danica Draskovic PhD Student danica.draskovic@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Tobias Feger PhD Student tobias.feger@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Michael Fitzgerald PhD Student michael.fitzgerald@mq.edu.au off campus
Bob Fuller MPhil Student robert.fuller1@mq.edu.au W3A
David (Brint) Gardner MRes Student david.gardner@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Greg Goldstein PhD Student gregory.goldstein@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Andreas Herzog PhD Student (co-supervised by CASS) andreas.herzog@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Katie Howard PhD Student katie.howard@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Sarah (Traine) Keith PhD Student sarah.traine@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Erik Kool PhD Student erik.kool@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Rajika (Reggie) Kuruwita MRes Student rajika.kuruwita@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Roberto Iaconi PhD Student roberto.iaconi@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
na Andrew Lehmann PhD Student andrew.lehmann@mq.edu.au E6A 2.201
Daniel MacDonald PhD Student daniel.macdonald1@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Alessandro Maini PhD Student alessandro.maini@students.mq.edu.au E7B 208
Stephen McAndrew PhD Student stephen.mcandrew@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Arik Mitschang PhD Student arik.mitschang@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Colin Navin PhD Student colin.navin@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Glen Rees PhD Student glen.rees@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Aaron Rizzuto PhD Student aaron.rizzuto@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Izabela Spaleniak PhD Student izabela.spaleniak@mq.edu.au W1A 4.501
Travis Stenborg PhD Student travis.stenborg@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
na James Tocknell PhD Student james.tocknell@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Shane Vickers PhD Student shane.vickers@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201

 

Physics and Astronomy IT support

Name Position Email Location
Joao Bento IT Support Specialist sci.physit-requests@mq.edu.au E6B 2.207
Ivan Bojicic IT Support Specialist sci.physit-requests@mq.edu.au E6B 2.205
Pablo Galaviz Vilchis IT Support Specialist sci.physit-requests@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201

 

Associate for Astronomy Staff

Name Position Email Location
Orsola De Marco Director orsola.demarco@mq.edu.au E6B 2.706
Tiffany Day Administrator & Manager starinfo@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201

 

Honorary Associates

Name Position Email Location
Roy Allen Honorary Associate (Retired) roy.allen@mq.edu.au E7A 322
Associate Professor Jeremy Bailey Associate Professor (University of New South Wales) j.bailey@unsw.edu.au UNSW
Mike Ireland ANU Future Fellow michael.ireland@mq.edu.au ANU
Alan Vaughan Honorary Associate (Retired) alan.vaughan@mq.edu.au E7A 322

 

Alumni

Name Position
Niyas Alikutty PhD Student -2014
Richard Baxter MPhil Student – 2012
Catherine Braiding PhD Student – 2011
Stacey Bright PhD Student – 2013
Daniela Carollo ARC Super Science Fellow – 2014
Sarah Chamberlain PhD Student – 2011
John Ching BSc(Hons) Student – 2008
Daniel Cotton PhD Student (Adjunct) – 2008
Anthony Conn PhD Student – 2013
Ashkbiz Danehkar PhD Student – 2014
Kyle DePew PhD Student  – 2011
Valentina D’Orazi ARC Super Science Fellow – 2014
Madusha Gunawardhana BSc(Hons) Student  – 2010
Duane Hamacher PhD Student – 2011
Shane Hengst BSc(Hons) Student – 2005
Daniel Hobbs BSc(Hons) Student  – 2004
Elaina Hyde PhD Student -2014
Nemanja Jovanovic PhD Student, PostDoc – 2012
Anna Kovacevic PhD Student – 2011
Angela Mabee BSc(Hons) Student – 2004
Geraldine Marien MPhil Student – 2012
Korinne McDonnell PhD Student – 2011
Brent Miszalski PhD Student – 2010
Rachel Moody PostDoc Student – 2003-2006
Lesa Moore BSc(Hons) Student – 2003, MPhil – 2008
Alan Peyaud PhD Student – 2005, PostDoc – 2009
Mark Pierce PhD Student – 2005
Andreas Ritter PhD Student – 2011
Raquel Salmeron BSc(Hons) Student – 2006
Andrew Smith MPhil Student – 2010
Ben Warrington Research Associate – 2012