Skip to Content

Astronomy, Astrophysics & Astrophotonics

Personnel

 

The new MQ AAAstro research centre currently has about 50 members including faculty, postdoctoral research fellows, postgraduate students, research associates and honorary associates as detailed below.

All department personnel are listed alphabetically by position. Click on the link below to jump to that section.

 » Department
 » Administrative Staff
 » Association for Astronomy Staff
 » Postdoctoral Fellows
 » Postgraduate Students
 » Research Associates
 » Honorary Associates
 » Alumni

Some staff and students have joint appointments with other departments or institutes, such as the Australian Astronomical Observatory (AAO) or CSIRO Astronomy & Space Science (CASS). If your info is incorrect or missing, just send a quick email to Amanda Manypeney at amanda.manypeney@mq.edu.au.

Department

   [back to top]

Orsola de Marco
Orsola De Marco - Associate Professor (ARC Future Fellow)
Research Interests: Evolved stars/populations, planetary nebulae, close binary simulations.
Office: E6B 2.706
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4241
Email: orsola.demarco@mq.edu.au
Jon Lawrence
Jon Lawrence - Senior Lecturer (Joint with AAO)
Research Interests: Astrophotonics
Office: E6B 2.704
Telephone: +61 2 9850 8901
Email: jon.lawrence@mq.edu.au
Richard McDermid
Richard McDermid - Lecturer (Joint with AAO Gemini Office)
Research Interests: Galaxy formation and evolution, stellar populations and dynamics of early-type galaxies, supermassive black holes, integral-field spectroscopy
Office: E6B 2.603
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4476
Email: richard.mcdermid@mq.edu.au
Quentin Parker
Quentin Parker - Professor, Centre Director (Joint with AAO)
Research Interests: Wide-field surveys, planetary nebulae, SNR, low surface-brightness galaxies.
Office: E6B 2.703
Telephone: +61 2 9850 8910
Email: quentin.parker@mq.edu.au
Lee Spitler
Lee Spitler - Lecturer (Joint with AAO)
Research Interests: Galaxy formation and evolution, near and distant galaxy observations,globular star clusters.
Office: E6B 2.605
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4161
Email: lee.spitler@mq.edu.au
Mark Wardle
Mark Wardle - Professor
Research Interests: Interstellar medium, shock waves, star/planet formation, accretion discs, the galactic centre.
Office: E6B 2.702
Telephone: +61 2 9850 8909
Email: mark.wardle@mq.edu.au
Daniel Zucker
Daniel Zucker - Associate Professor (ARC Future Fellow, Joint with AAO)
Research Interests: Stellar populations in nearby galaxies, galaxy evolution and mergers.
Office: E6B 2.705
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4442
Email: daniel.zucker@mq.edu.au


Administrative Staff

   [back to top]

Amanda Manypeney
Amanda Manypeney - Centre Administrator
Office: E6B 2.601
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4166
Email: amanda.manypeney@mq.edu.au

Carolyn Dow

Carolyn Dow - "Opening Real Science & Space to Grow" Project Manager
Office: C3A 911
Telephone: +61 2 9850 8675
Email: carolyn.dow@mq.edu.au

 

Association for Astronomy Staff

   [back to top]

Orsola De Marco
Orsola De Marco - Director
Office: E6B 2.706
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4241
Email: orsola.demarco@mq.edu.au

Tiffany Day

Tiffany Day - Administrator & Manager
Office: E6B
Telephone: +61 2 9850
Email: starinfo@mq.edu.au

 

Postdoctoral Fellows

   [back to top]

Borja Anguiano Jimenez
Borja Anguiano Jimenez (ARC Super Science Fellow)
Research Interests: Formation & evolution of the Galactic disk. Stellar parameters determination. RAVE & HERMES/GALAH survey
Office: E6B 2.204
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4173
Email: borja.anguiano@mq.edu.au
Joao Bento
Joao Bento (ARC DP Fellow)
Research Interests: Astrophotonics
Office: E6B 2.207
Telephone: +61 2 9850 6288
Email: joao.bento@mq.edu.au
Ivan Bojicic
Ivan Bojicic (ARC Super Science Fellow)
Research Interests: Planetary nebulae, radio and emission-line surveys.
Office: E6B 2.205
Telephone: +61 2 9850 8974
Email: Ivan.bojicic@mq.edu.au
Daniela Carollo
Daniela Carollo (ARC Super Science Fellow)
Research Interests: Galactic Archaeology, Galactic structure, formation & evolution, HERMES.
Office: E6B 2.204
Telephone: +61 2 9850 8974
Email: daniela.carollo@mq.edu.au
Valentina D′Orazi
Valentina D′Orazi (ARC Super Science Fellow)
Research Interests: The HERMES Project.
Office: E6B 2.204
Telephone: +61 2 9850 8974
Email: valentina.dorazi@mq.edu.au
David Frew
David Frew
Research Interests: Planetary nebulae, emission-line surveys, history of astronomy, education.
Office: E6B 2.205
Telephone: +61 2 9850 8974
Email: david.frew@mq.edu.au
Pablo Galaviz
Pablo Galaviz Vilchis
Research Interests: General relativity, common envelope evolution of binary stars.
Office:  
Telephone: +61 2 9850 8974
Email: pablo.galavizvilchis@mq.edu.au
Angel Lopez-Sanchez
Angel Lopez-Sanchez (Joint with AAO)
Research Interests: Galaxy evolution, star-formation, galactic nebulae, massive stars.
Office:  
Telephone: +61 2 9850 8974
Email: angel.lopez-sanchez@mq.edu.au
Birendra Pandey
Birendra Pandey (ARC DP Fellow)
Research Interests: Dusty plasmas, MHD, protostellar cores and discs, Sgr A*.
Office: E6B 2.206
Telephone: +61 2 9850 8933
Email: birendra.pandey@mq.edu.au
Warren Reid
Warren Reid (MQRF)
Research Interests: LMC planetary nebulae; stellar radial velocities.
Office: E6B 2.205
Telephone: +61 2 9850 9158
Email: warren.reid@mq.edu.au
Jan Staff
Jan Staff (ARC DP fellow)
Research Interests: Computational Astrophysics
Office: E6B 2.206
Telephone: +61 2 9850 6373
Email: jan.staff@mq.edu.au
Milorad Stupar
Milorad "Joe" Stupar (RAVE survey and MQAAAstro research support)
Research Interests: Supernova remnants.
Office: E6B 2.205
Telephone: +61 2 9850 8974
Email: milorad.stupar@mq.edu.au


Postgraduate Students

   [back to top]

Niyas Alikutty
Niyas Alikutty (PhD)
Thesis Topic: Binary star population studies.
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: niyas.alikutty@mq.edu.au
Carlos Bacigalupo
Carlos Bacigalupo (PhD)
Thesis Topic:  
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: carlos.bacigalupo@mq.edu.au
Christina Baldwin
Christina Baldwin (MRes)
Thesis Topic: Astronomy
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: christina.baldwin@students.mq.edu.au
Tui Britton
Tui Britton (PhD - Joint with CASS)
Thesis Topic: Methanol masers and massive star formation.
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: tui.britton@mq.edu.au
Charles Cosgrove
Charles Cosgrove  (MRes)
Thesis Topic: History and Philosophy of Science- History of Astronomy
Office: W6A Level 2
Telephone: +61 2 9850 8910
Email: charles.cosgrove@students.mq.edu.au ; coscemail@gmail.com
Michael Cowley
Michael Cowley (PhD)
Thesis Topic: The evolutionary impact of AGN on their host galaxies
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: michael.cowley@students.mq.edu.au
Nick Cvetojevic
Nick Cvetojevic (PhD - Joint with AAO)
Thesis Topic: Astrophotonics.
Office: W1A 4.501
Telephone: +61 2 98505012
Email: nick.cvetojevic@mq.edu.au
Ashkbiz Danehkar
Ashkbiz Danehkar (PhD)
Thesis Topic: Evolution of planetary nebulae with WR-type central stars
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: ashkbiz.danehkar@students.mq.edu.au
Tiffany Day
Tiffany Day (MRes)
Thesis Topic: Astronomy
Office: E6A
Telephone: +61 2 9850 8961
Email: tiffany.day@mq.edu.au
Dimitri Douchin
Dimitri Douchin (PhD - Cotutelle, University of Montpellier)
Thesis Topic: The binary fraction of planetary nebulae.
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: dimitri.douchin@mq.edu.au
Danica Draskovic
Danica Draskovic (PhD)
Thesis Topic: Planetary Nebulae
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: danica.draskovic@students.mq.edu.au
Tobias Feger
Tobias Feger (PhD)
Research Interests: Astrophotonics
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: tobias.feger@mq.edu.au
Michael Fitzgerald
Michael Fitzgerald (PhD)
Thesis Topic: Science Education ('Space to Grow' Project)
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: michael.fitzgerald@mq.edu.au
Bob Fuller
Bob Fuller (MPhil - Department of Indigenous Studies)
Thesis Topic: Ethnoastronomy of the Kamilaroi people
Office: W3A
Telephone: +61 2 9850
Email: robert.fuller1@mq.edu.au
David Gardner
David (Brint) Gardner (MRes)
Thesis Topic: Astronomy
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: david.gardner@students.mq.edu.au
Greg Goldstein
Greg Goldstein (PhD)
Thesis Topic: H2 Regions
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: gregory.goldstein@students.mq.edu.au
Andreas Herzog
Andreas Herzog (PhD Cotutelle, Ruhr-University Bochum (Germany), co-supervised by CASS)
Thesis Topic: The broad-band spectra of Infrared-Faint Radio Sources
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: andreas.herzog@students.mq.edu.au
Katie Howard
Katie Howard (PhD)
Thesis Topic: The black hole at the centre of the Milky Way.
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: katie.howard@mq.edu.au
Elaina Hyde
Elaina Hyde (PhD)
Thesis Topic: Galactic Archaeology.
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: elaina.hyde@mq.edu.au
Sarah Traine
Sarah (Traine) Keith (PhD)
Thesis Topic: Planet formation.
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: sarah.traine@mq.edu.au
Rajika Kuruwita
Rajika (Reggie) Kuruwita (MRes)
Thesis Topic: Astronomy
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: rajika.kuruwita@students.mq.edu.au
Roberto Iaconi
Roberto Iaconi (PhD)
Research Interests: Modeling and numerical simulations of binary systems and common envelope interactions
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: roberto.iaconi@mq.edu.au
Andrew Lehmann
Andrew Lehmann (PhD)
Thesis Topic:  Galactic Center Molecular Clouds
Office: E6A 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: andrew.lehmann@mq.edu.au
Daniel MacDonald
Daniel MacDonald (PhD)
Thesis Topic: Characterisation of post ABG disks using interferometry
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: daniel.macdonald1@students.mq.edu.au
Alessandro Maini
Alessandro Maini (PHD- Cotutelle)
Thesis Topic: Astronomy
Office: E7B 208
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: alessandro.maini@students.mq.edu.au
Stephen McAndrew
Stephen McAndrew (PhD)
Thesis Topic: Structure and stability of MHD shock waves.
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: stephen.mcandrew@mq.edu.au
Arik Mitschang
Arik Mitschang (PhD)
Thesis Topic: Chemical tagging, galactic archaeology with HERMES.
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: arik.mitschang@mq.edu.au
Colin Navin
Colin Navin (PhD)
Thesis Topic: Galactic archaeology with HERMES.
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: colin.navin@students.mq.edu.au
Glen Rees
Glen Rees (PhD)
Thesis Topic: Radio galaxy surveys and cosmology.
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: glen.rees@students.mq.edu.au
Aaron Rizzuto
Aaron Rizzuto (PhD)
Thesis Topic: OB stellar associations.
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: Aaron.Rizzuto@mq.edu.au
Izabela Spaleniak
Izabela Spaleniak (PhD)
Thesis Topic: Astrophotonics.
Office: W1A 4.501
Telephone: +61 2 9850 5013
Email: izabela.spaleniak@mq.edu.au
Travis Stenborg
Travis Stenborg (PhD)
Thesis Topic: Planetary Nebulae
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: travis.stenborg@mq.edu.au
James Tocknell
James Tocknell (PhD)
Thesis Topic: Polarisation of Radio, Infrared, and X-ray emission from Sgr A*
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: james.tocknell@mq.edu.au
Shane Vickers
Shane Vickers (PhD)
Thesis Topic: From Red Giants to Planetary Nebulae
Office: E6B 2.201
Telephone: +61 2 9850 4887
Email: shane.vickers@mq.edu.au



Honorary Associates

   [back to top]

Roy Allen
Roy Allen (Retired)
Research Interests: Radio astronomy.
Office: E7A 322
Telephone: +61 2 9850 8115
Email: roy.allen@mq.edu.au
Jeremy Bailey
Jeremy Bailey - Associate Professor (University of New South Wales)
Research Interests: Planetary atmospheres, extrasolar planets, instrumentation, software, chirality.
Office: UNSW
Telephone: +61 2 9385 5588
Email: j.bailey@unsw.edu.au
Mike Ireland
Mike Ireland (ANU Future Fellow)
Research Interests: Astrophotonics, exoplanets
Office: ANU
Telephone:  
Email: michael.ireland@mq.edu.au
Alan Vaughan
Alan Vaughan (Retired)
Research Interests: Radio astronomy, stellar proper motion surveys, archival plates.
Office: E7A 322
Telephone: +61 2 9850 8904
Email: alan.vaughan@mq.edu.au


Alumni

   [back to top]

Richard Baxter MPhil - 2012
Catherine Braiding PhD - 2011
Stacey Bright PhD - 2013
Sarah Chamberlain PhD - 2011
John Ching BSc(Hons) - 2008
Daniel Cotton PhD (Adjunct) - 2008
Anthony Conn PhD - 2013
Kyle DePew PhD - 2011
Madusha Gunawardhana BSc(Hons) - 2010
Duane Hamacher PhD - 2011
Shane Hengst BSc(Hons) - 2005
Daniel Hobbs BSc(Hons) - 2004
Nemanja Jovanovic PhD, Post Doc- 2012
Anna Kovacevic PhD - 2011
Angela Mabee BSc(Hons) - 2004
Geraldine Marien MPhil - 2012
Korinne McDonnell PhD - 2011
Brent Miszalski PhD - 2010
Rachel Moody Postdoc - 2003-2006
Lesa Moore BSc(Hons) - 2003, MPhil - 2008
Alan Peyaud PhD - 2005, Postdoc - 2009
Mark Pierce PhD - 2005
Andreas Ritter PhD - 2011
Raquel Salmeron BSc(Hons) - 2006
Andrew Smith MPhil - 2010?
James Tocknell Honours - 2012
Shane Vickers Honours - 2012
Ben Warrington Research Associate - 2012